Imaginary Conversations

A simple writing from a prompt at my writing group……

 

If only life were really like the imaginary conversations I have with myself all snug in my bed. The only weight pressing upon comes from the velvety soft blanket purchased from the mega store Costco. The warmth draws me deeper into my already relaxed state of mind. As I lay there getting drunk on my own blissful thoughts (or maybe it is the bourbon…) the next day begins to play out in my mind. An intimate conversation with myself. I will set my alarm for 6:00 AM ignoring the fact that I know full well I do not ever let my feet hit the floor before 7:00 AM. With the rare exception that a Shuttle Express will be pulling up in the wee hours of the morning, the heater running to ward of the chill that will slap me in the face as I drag my suitcase out to the driver. And the only reason that would be happening would be due to an impending flight that will be whisking me away to warmer weather in let’s say Mexico or Las Vegas or maybe to a cruise. It seems I am the only one, or one of very few in this room that loves to go on a cruise. Not for the buffet, or the shopping, as I avoid both. No, for the fact that I can walk aboard, unpack my suitcase and let the ship sail away taking me to a few different cities where I will enjoy some leisurely people watching. All the while gleaning ideas for the writing I will one day write….. but I digress. I will set my alarm for 6:00 AM. Upon its ringing I will energetically get out of bed and put on my workout clothes. I will pop in my Piyo DVD and get my workout done before the sun has even thought about peeking out over the horizon. A nice hot shower will follow after which I will head downstairs to enjoy a cup of coffee in sweet perfect silence before my son awakes. In Jane Cleaver style I will make my son his breakfast, pack his lunch and help him get ready for school. We will chat, my boy and I, about his day and then walk hand in hand in school. The one part of this imaginary conversation that will actually come to fruition. As I lay in bed gazing upon the beautiful morning that lay ahead of me my mind begins to wonder to my writing. A story begins to unfold, line after line. It is perfect! It is wonderful, engaging, dramatic…the words seem to be flowing one after another. If only I had a piece of paper to write it on. I should jot down at least the idea, the concept. And so I reach to my bedside table for a paper and pen…only to fall asleep with the alarm not set.

 

About kristilynr

I am a mom of two married to a wonderful man. I am the Owner, Designated Broker of the Reddy Real Estate Team (real esate firm) in Seattle, WA. I enjoy writing, walking, cooking, entertaining, hosting parties and spending time with friends and family. Things I hope to one day accomplish are: take a missions trip to Kenya, open a Bed & Breakfast in my home, publish a book or two, run a 5K and play on a soccer team. My life is full and I am happiest when I am with my family, going to church & worshipping God, watching soccer and enjoying the simple things in life.
This entry was posted in Writing For The Moment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

